Supplemental Security Income: Eligibility and Benefits

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is a federally funded supplemental income program and is available nationwide. SSI provides assistance for seniors 65+; those who are blind or disabled; with little or no income for life’s necessities: food, shelter, and clothing.

In California, eligibility depends on an individual’s geographic location; income (wages, social security benefits, and pensions); and resources (real estate, bank accounts, stock, bonds, and cash). SSI is managed by the state, causing eligibility and benefits to differ from state to state.

SSI recipients are automatically enrolled in Medi-Cal (a.k.a. Medicaid), allowing access to additional programs including In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) which offers in-home care to support elderly, blind, or disabled Medi-Cal recipients to safely remain at home.

To provide outpatient services, the state government will also buy Medicare Part B for SSI/Medi-Cal beneficiaries once they become eligible for Medicare.

In California, beneficiaries receive additional funds within their SSI payment allotted for food, making them ineligible to receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits (previously known as Food Stamps).

However, SNAP is available while awaiting approval for SSI; when relocating to another state; or if an SSI application is denied.

If an SSI application is denied (due to medical or non-medical reasons) an individual may appeal the decision. An appeal application is available online and a written appeal is acceptable within 60 days from the date of denial of benefits.

To apply for SSI, contact the Santa Clara County Social Security Office, for benefits screening: (877) 962-3633. For more information, visit:

Advocates for Long-Term Care Residents 

Living in a long-term care facility such as a nursing home may often not be the first choice for anyone. Some people have no other option but to live in a facility and for this reason, it is important that their rights are protected.   According to an article...

Recognize National Senior Citizens Day 

President Reagan declared August 21, 1988, to be the first National Senior Citizens Day. Since then, it has been celebrated on August 21 every year. This day was designated by the former president to honor the many senior citizens in the United States that have made...

Stay Safe from the Summer Heat  

Summer is here! While some people may love to have some fun in the sun, it is important to keep safety precautions in mind. Older adults, especially those with existing health problems, are at greater risk when facing high temperatures  Excessive heat can be dangerous...

Advanced Directives for Health Care Options 

An advanced directive often referred to as a “living will” or “health care power of attorney,” is a legal document providing guidance to medical professionals regarding the type of treatment one will allow in the event of a medical emergency when they may be unable to...

Respite Tips for Family Caregivers 

Being a family caregiver can be demanding and more stressful during the COVID-19 pandemic. In a recent article written by Gary Barg, Editor-in-Chief of Today’s Caregiver, he shares tips on how to achieve one day of COVID-19 safe respite per week for the rest of the...